Alamo Area Council of Governments Regional Emergency Preparedness Advisory Committee Meeting Wednesday, January 19th, 2022 – 02:00pm 2700 NE Loop 410, Suite 101 San Antonio, Texas 78217

MEETING MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT:

1. Chris Benavides and Rachelle Littlefield	17. Summer Hall for Kade Long
2. Andrew Cardiel and Michael Hayes	18. Michael Morlan for Chris Lopez
3. Patrick Lewis for Manuel Casarez	19. Keith Lutz
4. Walton Daugherty	20. Jerremy Hughes for Eric Maloney
5. Shelby Dupnik	21. Samual McDaniel
6. Mark Bennett for Eric Epley	22. Christopher Monestier
7. Jeffery Fincke	23. Steve Olfers
8. Tony Gross	24. Matt Malone for Dan Pue
9. Ray Hacker	25. Carey Reed and Leanne Beauxbeannes
10. Nolan Byrd for Gary Haecker	26. Derek Seelig for Braxton Roemer
11. Leann Hosek and Rebekkah Schriven	27. Colin Davis for Sammy Sikes
12. Ray Kallio	28. Danny Taylor
13. Jeff Kelley and Mark Cheatum	29. William Thomas
14. Justin Klaus	30. Cindy Stafford for Chris Thompson
15. Bryce Houlton for Kyle Kutscher	31. Jeffrey Dean for Mark Trevino
16. Robert Leonhardt	32. Scott Lampright for Nelson Wolff

MEMBERS ABSENT:

1. Roger Garcia	3. Johnny Stahl
2. David Gonzalez	4. James Teal

STAFF PRESENT:

Marcela Medina – Public Safety Manager Justin Monarez – Homeland Security/Criminal Justice Coordinator Laura Richardson – Public Safety Specialist Matthew Reyes – Homeland Security Planner

1. Meeting called to Order.

Jeffery Fincke called the meeting to order at 2:05pm.

2. Roll Call.

A quorum was established with thirty-two (32) members present

3. Public Comments

There were no public comments.

4. Consider and act upon approval of the December 15th, 2021 minutes.

A motion was made by **Scott Lampright** and seconded by **Carey Reed** to approve the minutes.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

5. Consideration and approval on new Committee Members:

1. Nominating Darren Brinkkoeter as Tony Gross' alternate for TDEM.

A **motion** was made by **Shelby Dupnik** and seconded by **Carey Reed** to approve the membership item.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

2. Nominating Cheryl Barron as Robert Leonhardt's alternate for the City of Pleasanton.

A **motion** was made by **Tony Gross** and seconded by **Shelby Dupnik** to approve the membership item.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

6. Consideration and approval on the REPAC 2022 Calendar.

A **motion** was made by **Shelby Dupnik** and seconded by **Tony Gross** to approve the item.

All Approved, Motion Carried.

7. Discussion and appropriate action on subcommittee reports.

A. Critical Infrastructure and Key Resources

Jeff Moore – Nothing to report.

B. Emergency Management and Community Preparedness

Keith Lutz & Carey Reed – Meeting on Friday, January 21st at 10:00am to discuss projects.

C. Emergency Response - Fire

Kade Long & Ray Hacker– Meeting on Monday, January 24th at 10:30am to discuss projects

D. Emergency Response - Law Enforcement

Johnny Siemens – Meeting on January 20th at 9:00am to discuss projects.

E. Inter-Operable Communications

Robert Adelman & Jeff Wendling – Meeting on January 20th at 2:00pm to discuss projects; Will be proposing a regional MOU for interoperable communications in the coming months.

F. IT/Fusion Center

Barrett Hanks & Jeffrey Fincke – Met before REPAC to discuss and rank projects.

G. Hospital/EMS/Medical

Mark Bennett – Did not meet last month; Meeting in the coming weeks.

H. Public Health and Agriculture

N/A

I. Strategic Planning

Jeff Dean – Leigh Middleton is on leave and her position has been moved to general fund, so it will not require future SHSP funding; Should know about UASI funding in early March.

8. Program Updates

- **A. SHSP Plans:** Outlined and explained procedures for upcoming SHSP cycle; subcommittees meeting during last two weeks of January and their rankings, along with final drafts of applications, will be posted on the Google Drive; reach out to staff for more information
- **B. Website Updates:** Been updating website to provide more information to applicants and increase transparency
- **C. FY2020 Fund Reallocations:** Working with Bexar County and Guadalupe County to reallocate leftover funds from FY2020 SHSP; waiting on OOG for final approval
- **D. SEAR Event Data Call:** Trying to come up with a system to request information monthly from counties and municipalities on their events; reach out with recommendations on what would best serve you
- **E. TEEX Courses:** First set of TEEX courses were offered last week, and more will be offered during the last week of January; currently planning for another in April on planning for sports events and security for large venues

9. FY2020 SHSP Project Update Presentations

A. Kendall County: Ballistic Protection Equipment – Presented on the status of their project

10. Discussion of future funding for subscriber radios

Robert Adelman and Jeff Wendling: Discussed removing or changing language in the Policies & Procedures that limits the ability of jurisdictions to apply for SHSP funding for subscriber radios; Interoperable Communications Subcommittee will draft changes and propose for committee's approval at a later date

11. Upcoming Events, Trainings and/or Exercises

- **A. AACOG Staff:** various subcommittee meetings for SHSP applicants; more TEEX courses at the Wetmore facility
- **B. Jeff Fincke:** Boerne ISD Exercise February 18th
- C. Mark Bennett: NEMS Exercise March 1st

D. Jeff Fincke: Hill Country Alliance virtual workshops/meetings to plan for the 2024 solar eclipse

12. Items to be placed on next meeting agenda A. SHSP applicant presentations and ranking

13. Next Meeting Date: February 16th, 2022 – 9:00AM – at AACOG Titan Building

14. Adjournment.

A **motion** was made and seconded to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 2:53 pm.